Story Time – My First Compound Miter Saw

This is a story on how I first got into carpentry and how I first got my hands on a compound miter saw. This took place many many years ago, when I was still in secondary school.

Ever since elementary school we had a crafting class, there we mainly did woodworking and carpentry but also stuff relating to metal, paper and many other things, ranging from sewing to robotics and programming.

We always had access to a variety of tools, but there were some we didn’t have permission to use AND lots which we didn’t dare to use, because they seemed dangerous and the compound miter saw was one of them.

It looks insanely sharp and actually is and this frightens many people, the though that it could cut off your whole frickin arm is pretty ridiculous and people really don’t want to take any chances when it comes to stuff like that.

Compound Miter saw story

I had never used it or asked about it, for over 8 years, for the reason stated above. I had been working on my final task for secondary school, I was creating an actual piece of furniture that I’d use.

That was my bed, the very one I use today.

This was not an easy task by any means and I wasn’t doing it just for the grade. I had the opportunity to decide myself, what I did for my last task and I chose this because I had been wanting a new bed for a long time, first of all and secondly, because I truly enjoy challenging myself, it makes the task that much more interesting.

I was halfway done with the majority of the bed, this did not include carving and other details. So far I had only been using a saw, a hammer, some nails and other similar tools anyone could use but the task was a lot more complicated and I couldn’t do it reasonably like that anymore so I asked my teacher for help.

He introduced me to the compound miter saw in our school the next class and a few weks later I had free hands to use it for whatevery I wanted. I was so fascinated by what this tool could do, I came to the class every day after hours to work in my bed.

My final project was finished within a month after being introdced to the compound miter saw, otherwise it would’ve taken me at least 6 more months.

A year later, after I had graduated and started working on my own projects at home and needed to buy some tools, the first tool that I bought, besides a hammer was the compound miter saw. I was so proud of owning it and with good reason.

I have been taking great care of it ever since and still own that miter saw, although I own and use various other mitre saws as well, as they come in many different sizes and are made for different purposes etc.

There’s not much more to say about that, if you want to hear more stories about me personally, let me know and I’ll write something up for you.

The next pieces of content I will be working on are informational articles, for example:

„How To Choose The Best Compound Miter Saw”

„What Exactly Is A Compound Miter Saw”

„Why You Need A Compound Miter Saw”

And many other interesting articles on similar topics.

Leave a comment

Filed under Stories

Leave a comment